Compton & Newberry

Two masters of American roots music

UK tour dates late January – early February 2017

Acclaimed traditional music veterans Mike Compton and Joe Newberry dig deep into early country music and blues, and their duet-singing, two-man string band ranges between traditional songs, instrumentals, ballads and original tunes.

Sat, 21/01/2017 Celtic Connections festival Glasgow
Sun, 22/01/2017 Dundee Acoustic Music Club Dundee
Tue, 24/01/2017 Craigdarroch Arms Hotel Moniaive
Wed, 25/01/2017 Fellside Centre Kendal
Fri, 27/01/2017 Mewl Music at Seven Arts Leeds
Sat, 28/01/2017 Steel City Opry at the Heeley Institute Sheffield
Sun, 29/01/2017 The Cross Keys Selattyn
Tue, 31/01/2017 Conservative Club (Helsby Bluegrass) Frodsham
Wed, 01/02/2017 Grateful Fred’s at The Atkinson Southport
Thu, 02/02/2017 The Three Horseshoes Towersey
Fri, 03/02/2017 Southbank Centre London
Sat, 04/02/2017 St George’s Church  New Mills
Sun, 05/02/2017 Victoria Hotel Menai Bridge

Celebrated mandolinist Mike Compton took up the instrument as a teenager and was heavily influenced by “father of bluegrass” Bill Monroe. Mike’s musical CV is long and impressive; he co-founded roots supergroup The Nashville Bluegrass Band and worked with the legendary John Hartford for many years. Mike has had a long association with producer T Bone Burnett and was one of the original Soggy Bottom Boys, performing on the Grammy-winning soundtrack to the Compton & Newberrysmash hit film O Brother, Where Art Thou? He has recorded, toured and taught with numerous acclaimed instrumentalists, including guitarist David Grier, mandolinist David Grisman and fiddle master Bruce Molsky, and worked with stars from Elvis Costello to the late Ralph Stanley.

Talented multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Joe Newberry is known internationally for his powerful clawhammer banjo work and he’s a prizewinning guitarist, fiddler and singer too. Joe’s IBMA award-winning songs have been recorded by artists including The Gibson Brothers and Ricky Skaggs. Born in Missouri, Joe moved to North Carolina as a young man and quickly became an anchor of the vibrant traditional music scene there. A frequent guest on Garrison Keillor’s A Prairie Home Companion, he was a guest star on the UK’s popular Transatlantic Sessions live tour in 2016, and is a hugely charismatic entertainer who charms audiences wherever he goes.